## DISTINGUISHED FACULTY SCHOLAR AWARD NOMINATING COMMITTEE 2024-2025

Years Elected (Fall )	Award Year (Spring)		First Name	Last Na	me	School / College	Department
	2024		Steven	Safren (Chair 2024)		College of Arts and Sciences	Psychology
	2022		Margaret	Pericak-Vance		Miller School of Medicine	HIHG General Administration
	2023		Antonio	Nanni		College of Engineering	Civil and Architectural Engineering
2024			Gregor	Eberli*		Rosenstiel School	Marine Geosciences
2024	D		Debbiesiu	Lee *		Education and Human Development	Education and Psychological Studies
2022, 2023,2024			Linda	Neider*		Herbert Business School	Management
2024	John		John	Reynolds*		University Libraries	
(Ex officio members, according to Faculty Manual, Section C19.2)							
Guillermo		Prado			Interim Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost		
JoNel		Newman*			Chair, Faculty Senate		

\* Indicates Senate member, and years elected by the Faculty Senate to serve on this committee

## FACULTY SENATE AWARDS<sup>1</sup> (*Faculty Manual Section C19*):

 $^{2}$ Exceptional teaching, scholarship and service have long been recognized as the three primary foundations of an outstanding university. The Senate has established three special annual awards explained in greater detail below, to recognize and foster excellence. Given the large number of worthy individuals within our university community, only in very rare cases should anyone receive more than one award. In those exceptional instances, it is expected that there be an interval of at least five years between awards.<sup>3</sup>

Each of the awards has its own criteria, but a common requirement is good character. The awards are presented at a ceremony in the spring semester, followed by

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>#2003-08(B)</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> #2018-01(D)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> #2021-37(D)

## a reception.<sup>4</sup>

## COMMITTEE CHARGE (*Faculty Manual* Section C19.2):

On the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Faculty Charter, the Faculty Senate established an annual award to recognize outstanding contributions to scholarship by individual faculty members at the University of Miami. The award is given to acknowledge either a single outstanding scholarly achievement or a lifetime of distinguished accomplishment in any area of research or creative activity.

Members of the faculty will be invited annually to nominate colleagues for the award. The nominations will be reviewed by a special Nominating Committee consisting of the last three awardees together with four Senate members nominated and elected at the first Senate meeting held in August each year, from schools not represented by the last four award winners. No Senate member can serve on more than one award Nominating Committee at a time.<sup>5</sup> The Provost and Faculty Senate Chair shall serve as *ex-officio* non-voting members of the committee. If for any reason, a previous awardee cannot complete his or her term as a member of the special Nominating Committee, the Senate Chair may appoint a previous awardee as a replacement. The Committee will report and make a recommendation\* to the Senate for selection.

For each nomination received the Committee will require a) the curriculum vitae of the faculty member; b) a short statement describing the contribution that occasions the nomination; and c) the names and addresses of four persons of eminence in the field who can comment on the achievements of the nominee.

At the awards ceremony, the awardee will present a report on his or her research.

Visit https://fs.miami.edu/\_assets/pdf/facultysenate/Documents/Awards/DFSAlist-web.pdf

to view a list of the past awardees.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> <u>#2006-14(D)</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> <u>#2019-61(D)</u>